Literary Arts

Lit New: Bite-size poetry, Sugar House Review and 15 Bytes Book Awards

The Utah Division of Arts & Museums has begun 2015 with a new installment of their Bite-Size Poetry feature, where they invite  notable Utah poets to read one of their short poems. They’re stylishly produced by TWIG Media Lab and will be produced once a month. The January feature is Rob Carney reading “What Any Stone Can Tell You.”
And this month Sugar House Review, the literary journal named for the Salt Lake City neighborhood (though now headquartered in Cedar City) celebrates five years with a special double-issue featuring work by Diana Anhalt, Shanan Ballam, Kevin Boyle, Jenny Mary Brown, Gordon Buchan, Thom Caraway, Anne Caston, Brad Clompus, Matthew Cooperman, Christopher Cokinos, Kelly Corinda, Emily J. Cousins, Jim Daniels, Brock Dethier, Gary Dop, Brad Efford, Thea Robin Engst, Kat Finch, Lauren Gordon, Andrew C. Gottlieb, Andrew Haley, Chera Hammons, Sara Henning, Katherine Hollander, Erin Hoover, Sean Howard, Sara Eliza Johnson, Catherine Keefe, Jen Lambert, Steve Langan, Esther Lee, Lisa Lewis, Joel Long, Lindsay Lusby, Angie Macri, Cate Marvin, Matt Mason, Matt Mauch, Kyle McCord, Anna Meister, Nancy Carol Moody, William Neumire, Greg Pape, Kate Partridge, Carl Phillips, Elizabeth A. Powell, RKR, Esteban Rodríguez, Christina Rothenbeck, April Salzano, Kate Savage, Brian Simoneau, Sarah Sloat, Danez Smith, BJ Soloy, Janet Sylvester, Jeff Tigchelaar, William Trowbridge, Donna Vorreyer, Carolyne Whelan, Jeff Whitney, Carolyn Williams-Noren, and Laura Madeline Wiseman.

Get your copy at or at local independent book sellers.

Also check out Sound of Sugar, their new audio feature.


And finally, Artists of Utah is now accepting submissions for the 2014 15 Bytes Book Awards. In its third year, this competition is open to Utah authors and authors of literary or visual arts books with a Utah theme or setting. A nominated book must be written by a Utah author and/or have a Utah theme or setting; be published in 2014 as indicated by the original copyright date; and be professionally published, bound, and assigned an ISBN. There are three categories: fiction (50,000 words minimum), poetry (48 pages minimum), and art books (20 page minimum). The winner in each category receives $100.

Deadline for all nominations is February 16, 2015.

For more information, contact David Pace at or visit

Categories: Literary Arts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.