Book Awards | Literary Arts

David Kranes’ Performance Art Wins the 15 Bytes Book Award for Fiction

Artists of Utah is excited to announce that Salt Lake City author David Kranes is the recipient of this year’s 15 Bytes Book Award for Fiction. Kranes, a professor emeritus of English at the University of Utah, has published eight novels and three previous collections of short stories. Performance Art was published by the University of Nevada Press in October, 2021.

In their citation, the jurors’ write: “Like a high-wire artist defying gravity, David Kranes takes risk for an audience who may initially be unsettled but are ultimately rewarded. A collection of nine previously published works and four new ones, Performance Art gathers an eclectic range of short stories which explore the visible and invisible aspects of performance and performers. Whether he’s writing about escape artists, knife throwers or stand-up comedians, Kranes is always curious, inventive and sympathetic. Performance Art confirms the talents of a writer who always manages to surprise and excel in whatever format he embraces.” 

Read our review of Performance Art here.

Since 2013, Artists of Utah has recognized excellence in publishing with the 15 Bytes Book Awards, awarding prizes in the categories of Fiction, Poetry, Creative Nonfiction and Art Book. Books by Utah authors or with a Utah connection are recognized by the awards.

Nominations for the 2023 awards will be accepted beginning Jan. 15, 2023.

Categories: Book Awards | Literary Arts

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.